Sunday, July 24, 2005

The Last Apprentice: Revenge of the Witch by Joseph Delaney

This book starts out with a boy named Thomas Ward. He is the seventh son of a seventh son. Then the local spook takes him into apprenticeship. The Spook’s job is to “protect farms and villages from things that go bump in the night. Dealing with ghouls, boggarts, and all manner of wicked beasties”. During his training he meets a girl named Alice and his life goes downhill from there. Including accidentally resurrecting an evil which! Can the spook teach Thomas enough to stay alive?

This is an extraordinarily well-written book for a debut. The ending of this book makes you want to find out what adventures Thomas goes through next. I can’t wait for the next book to come out (whenever it does). I believe it could become a high-selling book and series.

Rating (0 - 10 scale): 9

Reviewer Age: 12


kimolla said...

this series rocks!how many is there supposed to be in all ?

kimolla said...

never mind...trilogy right?

Flamingnet Book Blog said...

Revenge of the Witch is Joseph Delaney's first novel. We can't find anything on the Internet about a trilogy... Let us know if there are sequels. We would like to review them for Flamingnet.
Gary and Seth Cassel
Flamingnet Book Reviews

F and SF Lover said...

The Last Apprentice: Revenge of the Witch is actually the third in the Wardstone trilogy by Joseph Delaney. Does the review refer instead to the first instalment, The Spook's Apprentice?

So, just to confirm, the full trilogy in order is:-

The Spook's Apprentice
The Spook's Curse
The Last Apprentice: Revenge of the Witch has reviews and more info...

Flamingnet Book Blog said...

It refers to the last book.